Irregular Verbs: LET through WRITE, Present and Past Tenses

LET thru WRITE pres. & past

Click on the blue link and listen to me use the present and past tenses of the verbs in the list. I am saying,  “Every day, I …”  to remind you that we use the present tense when we speak of things we do routinely. For example, every day I brush my teeth and read the newspaper. Every day, she practices English verbs and improves her pronunciation. I say “yesterday” to remind you that we use the simple past when we speak of something that happened at a particular time.

This time, I am using the pronoun “she” so you can practice all those s-s-s-s-s and sh-h-h sounds.

*Note that there are two verbs “to lie.” One meaning of “to lie” is to say something that is not true. That verb is regular. The verb you hear me use is the other “to lie.”  It means to recline. It is usually used in a phrasal verb, such as “to lie down.” For example: I try to lie down for a quick nap every afternoon. I lay down yesterday, but I got up when the doorbell rang. My dog lies on the rug while I work on my blog.

MORE CONFUSION! “To lay” is an entirely different verb. It means “to place” or “to put something down.” It requires an object. (What did you lay?) For example: My hen laid two eggs! She lays the baby in his cradle and rocks him to sleep. Even native English speakers confuse “to lie down” and “to lay,”

Phrasal verb = a verb whose base form has more than one word. The extra word is usually a preposition. “Get up,” go away,” “get rid of,”  “turn off” are phrasal verbs.

One thought on “Irregular Verbs: LET through WRITE, Present and Past Tenses

Leave a Reply

